Gone Fishin’

gonefishing2

Just in a manner of speaking…  But with the same kind of quiet, poised intent which will provide more material for this space, I hope.

Back sometime in early October…

Talked to one of my brothers yesterday.  He got me laughing with this little story:

‘You know James Brown, the Godfather of Soul, the Hardest Working Man in Show Business…  Come on, guess what’s written on his tombstone:

“I felt goo-o-ood!

And then I was reading this web page about never giving up, apt advice for fishermen.  It has a quote from Daniel Boone, the frontiersman.  My father always liked to claim that Daniel Boone is part of our family tree.  I rather fancy that I look a bit like the only known portrait of him, although my hair is not yet white.

The story goes that Daniel Boone was once asked by an early journalist if he had ever been lost in the wilderness. Boone thought for a moment and replied, “No, but I was once bewildered for about three days.”

Later…

[Home]

Explore posts in the same categories: Awareness, Culture, Heroes, Remembering, Travel

6 Comments on “Gone Fishin’”

  1. sputnki Says:

    Heh, ya that was always one of my favourite quotes. Although I remembered it as “No, but I was a mite confused for a couple of days”. However I’ve already written about how “reliable” and “accurate” aren’t adjectives applicable to my memory!

    Good fishin!

    Doug

  2. fencer Says:

    Hi Doug,

    Thanks… after about the third or fourth retelling of these quotes by various people, sometimes they tend to get a mite altered.

    Regards

  3. forestrat Says:

    I often find myself confused out in the woods. Fortunately I has never been for days at a time.

    MDW

  4. fencer Says:

    Hey, forestrat,

    Have you ever been actually been lost (for less than a day perhaps)? I’ve spent a fair amount of times in the woods, and have been lucky to never have gotten lost. Sometimes I cheated though and had a compass…

    Usually if I’ve been turned around, downhill leads you back to a road or a stream, or you kind of know by sun direction.

    Regards

  5. Eliza Says:

    Fencer: Thanks for the link – just what I need at this time. Hope the fishing trip was good.

  6. fencer Says:

    Hi Eliza,

    Yes, the “fishing trip” (also known as travelling in Europe) was a good experience, although not without its downsides. Now, what to write about it…

    Regards


Leave a Reply

