Interregnum

I really wanted to use that word someday, and now I have. 

In this case, it signifies a slight lapse in posting due to work commitments.

Back soon!

Explore posts in the same categories: Travel

5 Comments on “Interregnum”

  1. fencer Says:

    I like it alot; it’s got a rugged chunky presence, although I’m certainly not giving it the proper due… like using it correctly!

    Regards

  2. sputnki Says:

    It is a rather rugged Roman word, like what the legionaires in the cohort might say to one another when they were breaking for coffee.

    I wonder what “double-double” is in Latin?

    Doug

  3. Eliza Says:

    I thought to mention, I found this word used today. It’s in Lee Kuan Yew’s memoirs “A Singapore Story”, pg 78: “In the confused interregnum between the Japanese surrender of 15 August 1945 and the establishment of effective British control…..”
    But I’d never heard of the word before your blogpost. :-)

  4. fencer Says:

    Hi Eliza,

    I think that’s the usual meaning, the time between two regimes or two empires.

    I associate it mostly with science fiction to tell you the truth, with space epics about far-flung empires and the inevitable disintegrations and rebirths of hegemony.

    Regards


Leave a Reply

