In Praise of Myself, and Others (By the Way)

thinkingbloggerpf8.jpg

Well, I was tagged and it does give me an excuse to write about some thoughtful blogs.

I’m talking about being bestowed the honour of the Thinking Blogger Award by kind Eliza at Eliza’s Haberdashery.

This award is an artful “meme” by a blogger, Ilker Yoldas, whom I think we can call a meme developer. (In the near future, children will respond with this as an ambition when they are asked what they want to be when they grow up.)

Memes of course are as defined by Richard Dawkins in The Selfish Gene (1976): “a unit of cultural transmission, or a unit of imitation.”

The game is that I choose five blogs as my choices for the Thinking Blogger Award. After some effort these are my five choices.

1. Bloglily (of course) as one of the most consistently excellent blogs around, about literature and writing, family and life. Feeling and intelligence combined.

2. Qazse’ s QAZSE.com is thoughtful, insightful and poetic. He is able to say a great deal with only a few words.

3. Hyperpat’s Hyperday is a blog, as he says, about science fiction, science and daily living. He writes well thought-out posts on many subjects, but he has a wealth of knowledge about science fiction, and his reviews and posts about books in that genre are always worth reading.

4. Ann El Khoury’s Reclaiming space. Ann is an educator, peace activist and PhD candidate based in Australia. Her prolific site features comments and articles on many fronts.

5. Karl is a professional freelance photographer at Leading Design who writes extensively about politics, global warming (for instance), and his art.

And so, to these bloggers whom I’ve tagged, the rules are:

1. If, and only if, you get tagged, write a post with links to 5 blogs that make you think.
2. Link to this post so that people can easily find the exact origin of the meme.
3. Optional: Proudly display the ‘Thinking Blogger Award’ with a link to the post that you wrote.

Please, remember to tag blogs with real merits, i.e. relevant content, and above all – blogs that really get you thinking!

There’s a slightly coercive element to this meme with the tagging/chain mail mechanism which is not so keen.  But on the whole, I’ve enjoyed this chance to appreciate some of my favorite blogs.

Accept the mission, if you wish, and have fun…

[Home]

Explore posts in the same categories: Culture, Internet, Writing

4 Comments on “In Praise of Myself, and Others (By the Way)”


  1. Hi Fencer, well I can see why you were nominated. :) Thanks very much for this honour. I have taken the opportunity to participate — one of the better memes I’ve been presented with, I think!

  2. bloglily Says:

    You are such a sweetheart. Thank you. You were the first person I ever really spoke to in the blogging world, and if anyone has made me think, it is certainly you. xo, Lily

  3. Karl Says:

    Hi Fencer. I thank you not only for this nomination (which I will carry forward) but equally for your ongoing support as well as a great blog. I suppose I have some hard decisions to make, carrying the meme fire forward.

    Thanks again

    Karl


  4. […] memes create clusters of people with common interests and/or skills. In this particular case, Fencer awarded me a meme called the “Thinking Blogger Award”. The idea is that your blog is […]


Leave a Reply

