Interesting Stops Along the Internet Trail

Since I’m a little bit lazy this week and I have to prepare to go out of town for a few days, I’m going to dally with some of my web finds.

One I’ve found quite thought provoking is another WordPress blog, Rollfilm: Excursions Into the World of Photography.  A recent post shows some photos from the book by M.W. Marien, Photography: A Cultural History – the very earliest photos.

You can take a look at what is considered the first photograph: an urban roof and sky in all its wonderful graininess in 1826.  You can also see the very first photograph of a person by Louis Daguerre in 1839 – actually more of an urban streetscape than anything else, with a tiny figure visible.

The post also shows an early medical photo: “The use of Aether for Anesthesia,” dated 1847.

Photography is a way of seeing, almost a mode of perception we take for granted now, that had never been before, and it began to arise in the first half of the 19th Century.  A visual species, we may not appreciate how photography in all its forms and derivations is integral to our way of life, from television to tourism to weddings to law.

Every time we take our digital cameras in hand, we participate in the emergence of the more or less permanent visual images that help define our times, who we are and what we do.  Imagine the world without photography.  It’s tough.

~

I admit it… I’m a tree lover, even a hugger.  Ever since I was a kid, I’ve felt the beneficience of trees.  I climbed them, made tree houses in them with my brothers, admired their shapes and sounds.  I’m inclined towards one Buddhist view that trees are saints reincarnated to give of themselves until all beings are saved.  I think of people I’ve seen in parks in China doing Chi Kung with trees, passing their hands rythmically through their presence.  I like trees.

So I enjoyed coming across this site, showing somebody’s list of the 10 most magnificent trees in the world.  There’s Circus Trees, the Giant Sequoia General Sherman,  the Chapel-Oak of Allouville-Bellefosse, Banyan trees, Bristlecone Pines, and the quite astonishing Baobab tree, which turns out to be a giant water tank in the desert.  Buddhist saints indeed.

There is even a picture of the Son of the Tree that Owns Itself, the inheritor of the privilege bestowed upon its predecessor in 1820 to own itself from the estate of a doctor in Georgia, USA.

After looking at the site I was reminded of the book Should Trees Have Standing? by law professor Christopher Stone, where he argues that if soulless abstract entities such as corporations are allowed to have legal status as persons, should not trees and other natural objects have comparable rights in the legal system.

~

sympathy-l.jpgIf you’ve ever had a dog that you loved, this painting of a pensive girl and her tuned-in canine friend may speak volumes to you.   In our family for years we had a series of dogs, most of them mutts but all dear that we named Bodie, short for Bodacious.  Most were black haired, often Lab crosses I think, most not related to each other that we adopted over the years, but which all seemed to carry that empathic Bodie spirit along with the name.  This painting brings that back.

~

I don’t know much about Brazilian jujitsu, although I have been told it’s like aikido on the ground.  This site describes the 10 Brazilian jujitsu moves every cop should know.  Not only for cops, there are some good general self-defense moves and strategies shown.  And they have the bonus of not being too damaging to your opponent.

~

If you’re acquainted at all with the original Winnie the Pooh books and illustrations (and not that detestable Disney version), you may find these photos poignant about where the original stuffed toys are kept.   The instantly recognizable originals – Winnie the Pooh, Tigger, Eeyore, Piglet and Kanga – are displayed in the New York City public library system in the Central Children’s Room in the Donnell Library Center on 53rd Street.

I remember reading the Pooh books almost as soon as I could read, and I remember my mother sitting by our beds at night reading aloud to my brothers.  I was too old to be read to (according to me), but I listened anyway, and my mother loved to read the stories and show us the illustrations.

~

I’ve just about finished my multislacking here… but not before linking you to the Urban Dictionary, a slang dictionary with user definitions, like Wikipedia for slang.

There’s multiple brewosis, when you’re brewin’ or pissed off about a few things; organically overlap, a kind of New Age coming together; hostage lunch, where an organization buys pizza in order to induce a meeting; and truthenize, where you take down a liar with the incontrovertible facts. Like euthanize, but with the truth.

[Home]

Explore posts in the same categories: Environment, Internet, Martial arts, Photography, Remembering

2 Comments on “Interesting Stops Along the Internet Trail”

  1. qazse Says:

    hey Fencer, great post, something for everyone. I saw the tree at pebble beach.

  2. fencer Says:

    I’m amazed a tree can survive there, never mind root there…

    Regards


Leave a Reply

